How to prevent other people from seeing when you are online

Seeing in an app when someone was last online can help you find out whether or not they’re available to chat, as well as point out whether they’re ignoring your messages or just haven’t gotten around to it yet to answer. But if you don’t like your status being broadcast to your contacts in this way, there are ways to turn it off.

There’s usually a tradeoff here: if you don’t want your contacts to see when you’re online or when messages have been read, you won’t be able to see their online status or read receipts either. You may find that an acceptable compromise if it means that other people don’t know when you do and when you don’t answer your phone.

How do I hide my online status in WhatsApp?

Screenshot: WhatsAppScreenshot: WhatsApp

In the mobile app, tap Settings (iOS) or the three dots in the top right corner and then Settings (Android). Then select AccountPrivacyand Last seen† You have four different options here, which are fairly self-explanatory: EverybodyMy contactsMy contacts except…and No one† You can choose to share your online status with a select few people (and get their online status back in return) via the My contacts except… choice.

How do I disable read receipts in iMessage?

Screenshot: iOSScreenshot: iOS

The iMessage platform in Messages on iPhone doesn’t broadcast your online or offline status to your contacts like some other instant messenger apps, but it does have read receipts – from the main iOS Settings app you can select Messages and then turn the Send read receipts toggle switch off. You can also do this for individual chats by tapping the header at the top of a conversation to see the Send read receipts toggle switch.

How do youit is aboutonline sin Google Chat

Screenshot: Google ChatScreenshot: Google Chat

Google Chat is the opposite of iMessage in this particular area: there’s no setting to manage read receipts, but you can tell your contacts what your online status is (or not). Open the mobile app, tap the three lines up in the top left corner, then select your current status (maybe Active† Instead of having this as automatically (based on your activity), change this to Set as absent or a custom status of your own choice.

How do youit is aboutonline sin Facebook messenger

Screenshot: Facebook MessengerScreenshot: Facebook Messenger

From the main conversation list in the Facebook Messenger app on your phone, tap your profile picture (top left) and choose Active status: You get a simple Show when you’re active toggle switch that you can turn on or off. This applies to all the different places Facebook and Facebook Messenger are installed, but turning it off will not affect your ability to message other people or anything else you do on Facebook.

How do youit is aboutonline sin Instagram

Screenshot: InstagramScreenshot: Instagram

Like the other apps that Facebook (now Meta) runs, Instagram shows your online status and when you were last active by default. To change this, tap your profile picture in the mobile app (bottom right), then the three lines (top right), then Settings and Privacy: To elect Activity status and you get a Show activity status toggle switch to hide your current status — and it’s very similar to the one you get in Facebook Messenger.

How turn off read receipts Signal

Screenshot: SignalScreenshot: Signal

Signal won’t show your contacts when you were last online or if you’re currently using the app, most likely in the interest of user privacy. However, it does offer read receipts, which can give other people an idea of ​​when you last used the app. If you’d rather this not be the case, tap the three dots in the app (top right) and select Settingsthen Privacyand you can disable both read receipts and Types of indicators in your chats.

How to hide the online status in Telegram

Screenshot: TelegramScreenshot: Telegram

If you are a Telegram user, from the mobile app go to Settings by tapping the three lines up in the top left corner of the main chat list screen. Choose Privacy and Security to find the Last seen and online option: Your choices are: EverybodyMy contacts or No oneand you can also use the Never share with option below if you want to select a specific person or group of people who can’t see your current status.