Impossible so far, you can delete Instagram account in the app on iPhone

To comply with the latest guidelines from the Apple App Store, Instagram offers the option to delete your Instagram account in the app on iPhones.

If you need to take a break from your social media life or start a brand new Instagram account, now you can finally delete your Instagram account on iPhone directly from the mobile app. No, that was not possible before! To delete or deactivate your Instagram account, you had to go to the Delete Your Account page from a mobile browser or computer. This used to be a long and tiring process, in case you weren’t logged into Instagram on the web. But now Instagram has made it easier for users to delete the account in the app, a TechCrunch report confirms.

This comes after Apple’s new App Store review guidelines say that “starting June 30, 2022, apps submitted to the App Store that support account creation must also allow users to delete their account within the app.” .” Apple suggests that deleting an account is an important decision for any user. Therefore, the process for initiating and confirming deletion should be simple and transparent.

Also read: Looking for a smartphone? Click here to check the mobile finder.

“We want to give people more ways to control their experience and the time they spend on Instagram. We rolled out the option to delete your account in Settings on iOS, and you still have the option to temporarily disable your account before choosing to delete it,” the TechCrunch report quoted a Meta spokesperson as saying.

How does removing or deactivating Instagram accounts work?

The app itself has not shared any information about the uninstall option, but the report suggests that users can deactivate their accounts. Even after you proceed with deleting your account in the app, you still have a 30-day cooling off period to reconsider your decision to delete or deactivate your account. All you need to do is restart the app within the specified time.

Instagram users should know that according to Instagram’s policy, temporary account deactivation will keep your account, profile, photos, comments and likes hidden until you reactivate it by logging in again. can ever get your data back unless you downloaded a copy of your data through Instagram’s Data Download tool.