New Vic-government ministers are sworn in

Victoria’s new ministers will be sworn in after the Andrews Labor government was forced into a swift cabinet reshuffle five months after the November state election.

Prime Minister Daniel Andrews unveiled his new front seat on Saturday, crowning Jacinta Allan Deputy Prime Minister, the second woman in Victoria’s history.

Former Deputy Prime Minister James Merlino, Health Secretary Martin Foley, Employment Secretary Martin Pakula and Police Secretary Lisa Neville all resigned from cabinet on Friday along with outgoing Planning Secretary Richard Wynne, prompting the reshuffle.

Watch the latest news on Channel 7 or stream for free on 7plus

Their replacements Sonya Kilkenny, Lizzie Blandthorn, Steve Dimopoulos, Harriet Shing and Colin Brooks will be sworn in Monday by Governor Linda Dessau at a ceremony at Government House.

Mr Brooks will become Minister for Child Protection and Family Services and Minister for the Disabled, Aging and Carers, while Ms Blandthorn will take on the planning portfolio and the role of the party’s lower house leader.

Mr Dimopoulos has secured the role of Mr Pakula as Minister for Tourism, Sports and Major Events and Minister for Creative Industries, and Ms Kilkenny is acting as Minister for Corrections, Juvenile Justice, Victim Support and Fishing and Boating.

Ms. Shing, a longtime parliamentary secretary, takes on the water, regional development and equality portfolios.

Outgoing Agriculture Secretary Mary-Anne Thomas will take over as Secretary of Health – the state’s fourth in as many years – while Natalie Hutchins will officially exchange the correction round for education.

Other notable changes in the ministry include Ms. Allan overseeing a newly created portfolio to oversee the delivery of the 2026 Commonwealth Games and the renaming of the cabinet of the Aboriginals to “minister for treaty and first peoples”.