These First Nations Politicians Are Heading To Canberra

The federal election has produced a historic number of different parliamentarians as the new prime minister, Anthony Albanese, has been sworn in to end the coalition’s decade in power.

The coalition government was decimated after the Liberal party lost a slew of previously safe, wealthy inner-city seats to independents, and a swing in Western Australia had once again handed over safe Liberal seats to Labour.

The upcoming 47th parliament will also be the country’s most diverse, with ten First Nations politicians — record numbers in both chambers of parliament.

The entire Albanian ministry is expected to be sworn in next Wednesday.

Some old faces, some new

Wiradjuri woman Linda Burney was returned to Barton’s seat and will take her place in the House of Representatives as the first Aboriginal woman to hold the Indigenous Affairs portfolio.

She takes over from former MP Ken Wyatt, who also lost his seat.

Ms Burney will also serve as the Minister for Families and Social Services, the first Indigenous person to hold that portfolio.

She will be joined by upcoming Marion Scrymgour, who won Lingiari’s NT seat, and Dr. Gordon Reid, who snatched Robertson’s New South Wales seat from the coalition.

Ms Burney told Patricia Karvelas, host of ABC’s RN Breakfast, that her priority will be the full implementation of the Uluru Statement from the Heart.

“This week marks the fifth anniversary of the Uluru statement and it is a very high priority and 100 percent supported by the caucus,” she said.

She also confirmed that the government would now turn to the consultation process on the implementation of a vote, a treaty and a truth commission.

Record number of Indigenous women in the Senate

Labour’s Jana Stewart joins her colleagues Malarndirri McCarthy and Jacinta Nampijinpa Price for the opposition’s Country Liberal Party and will represent the Northern Territory with Ms McCarthy in an NT first.

Western Australian Labor senator and Yawuru man Patrick Dodson will become the minister for constitutional recognition and reconciliation under a Labor government.

Having experienced one of the biggest swings in history, the Greens will send some First Nations women back to the Senate.

Tasmanian Aboriginal Senator Jacqui Lambie is also in the Senate with her party and the Greens are expected to play a key role in a growing Senate crossbench as the number of independents has grown.

Victorian Greens Senator Lidia Thorpe and Western Australian Dorinda Cox have been re-elected to the Senate.

Ms Price is likely to be the coalition’s only Indigenous MP after Ken Wyatt lost his seat and other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander challengers across the country failed to make headway.

The 47th parliament will also be one of the most diverse in history with a bevy of parliamentarians of different ethnicities and backgrounds joining parliament.