Traditions Old And New Headline AFLW Season Seven Fixture – AFL New Zealand

In the AFLW season opener, Carlton and Collingwood will be seen again at Ikon Park to kick off season seven of the AFLW in August.

The clash between traditional rivals – which is usually the first game of each AFLW season – will be held on Thursday, August 25 and will launch a big first round footy.

The first round will feature some big clashes, including a Grand Final rematch between Adelaide and Melbourne at Norwood Oval on Friday night and finalists Brisbane and Fremantle on the Gabba main stage on Sunday, as all four expansion teams launch their AFLW programs on Saturday. .


Indigenous Round covers rounds three and four and features the first-ever AFLW Dreamtime match between Essendon and Richmond in round four.

Essendon and Hawthorn will open the next chapter of a historic rivalry when the brand new women’s teams take on Saturday night at Port Melbourne’s ETU Stadium, as Port Adelaide travels to WA to take on the west coast at Mineral Resources Park and will host Sydney. are from St. Kilda at North Sydney Oval and evening.

Good For Footy Round will take place on round six, while Pride Round will have a double header on Saturday at Ikon Park on round eight.

The QClash will take place at the Gabba in round three, with the first-ever Sydney Derby at the SCG the same day – times to be confirmed based on the men’s final final. All matches on Saturday in September will remain floating to maximize double header chances.

West Coast and Fremantle will play the fifth AFLW Western Derby in round five at Optus Stadium, and the first AFLW Showdown is scheduled for round six at Adelaide Oval.

There’s plenty of football to be had on Friday, September 23 – the AFL Grand Final holiday in Victoria – with four games in a row and mostly within the MCG district. Two matches will be played at Punt Road Oval, while both the AIA Center (Olympic Park) and Ikon Park will host matches throughout the day.

Only one match will be played on the AFL Grand Final day, where Richmond and Brisbane will face off at Punt Road Oval from 11:10am AEST before the men’s festivities begin nearby that afternoon.

Fremantle is set to spend a lot of time on the road, aiming to play in five states/territories during the ten-round home and away season, while Richmond will only leave Victoria once, although their schedule will include a home game in Mildura and a trip to Geelong.

Thirty-three different venues are planned to be used, including new venues such as Kombumerri Park in Queensland, Reid Oval in Warrnambool, Box Hill City Oval and Alberton Oval, which will host Hawthorn and Port Adelaide respectively.

“We have played some of the biggest matches in metro stadiums, with the Gabba, SCG, Optus Stadium and Adelaide Oval hosting local derbies in season seven. We are also playing in suburbs, bringing the game closer to even more fans, with matches in Ballarat, Warrnambool, Mildura and Mackay,” said Laura Kane, AFL General Manager Competitions.

Brisbane are also playing at Moreton Bay Central Sports Complex for the first time since 2019, as they wait for their new home in Springfield to be completed.

Richmond and Adelaide will face each other in round two for the first time in AFLW history, but matchups from existing clubs, Carlton/West Coast, Collingwood/Gold Coast and Melbourne/Geelong have yet to be secured.

As with the men’s, round ten will remain a floating match until closer to the date.

With the expansion to an 18-team league, the final series will stretch over four weeks for season seven, with the top eight making it to the finals.

Brisbane players celebrate a goal in the qualifying final against Collingwood on March 27, 2022. Photo: AFL Photos

“Season seven will be an exciting 14 weeks of elite football. We have 540 athletes ready to compete, with rivalries new and old ignited, the next generation of talent ready to shine, and the superstars of our game are gearing up for our biggest season yet,” said AFL General Manager Women’s Football Nicole Livingstone.

“History will be made with Hawthorn, Sydney Swans, Port Adelaide and Essendon competing in the competition – and we challenge every footy fan and supporter of women’s sports to show up and support our athletes.

“Now that the 18-team league is complete, I would like to recognize the role of every female soccer pioneer — player, administrator, referee, coach, volunteer, supporter — whose dedication and passion for women’s soccer has accelerated the development of the AFLW since its founding in 2017 .”

Story – AFLW