San Francisco, June 19 (IANS): Meta-owned WhatsApp has announced that it is rolling out new options for your privacy control settings to further protect users’ privacy online.
On the microblogging site, the company wrote that users can now select who from their contact list can see their profile picture, About and Last Seen status.
“The safety and security of you and your messages is important to us. We want you to know about the tools and features we’ve designed to help you stay safe while using WhatsApp,” the company wrote. its FAQ page.
WhatsApp said that users can set your last seen, profile picture, about or status to the following options — Everyone: your last seen, profile picture, about or status is available to all WhatsApp users; My Contacts: Your last seen, profile picture, about or status is only available to your contacts from your address book.
My contacts except… : Your last seen, profile picture, about, or status is available to your contacts from your address book, except the contacts you exclude.
Nobody: Your last seen, profile picture, about or status is not available to anyone.
The company also said you should be aware of what you share.
“We encourage you to think twice before you decide to share anything with your WhatsApp contacts. Think about whether you want others to see what you’ve sent,” the company said.
“If you share a chat, photo, video, file or voice message with someone else on WhatsApp, they have a copy of those messages. They can forward these messages or share them with others if they want to.” added.
WhatsApp said it also has a location feature that allows users to share their location in a WhatsApp message. Users should only share their location with people they trust.